blog.aids.gov − Facebook Live From AIDS 2016 & More
AIDS.GOV | SERVICE LOCATOR | SEARCH

BLOG.AIDS.GOV - Changing to HIV.gov in Spring 2017

MENU
Translate
Text SizePrint

Facebook Live From AIDS 2016 & More

FB live image - resized - revisedFacebook Live videos Exit Disclaimer are real-time video posts on Facebook that allow your followers to watch your live stream straight from your page, directly engage with you by answering questions, reading comments, and seeing FB reactions. Although live streaming options have been around for a while, Facebook has now made it easier to stream live on a mainstream platform that already reaches a wide audience.

Since Facebook Live was first rolled out in April of this year, it has created new ways for people to interact with others across the world. As Mark Zuckerberg, CEO and co-founder of Facebook wrote, it’s “like having a TV camera in your pocket. Anyone with a phone now has the power to broadcast to anyone in the world.” Here’s how Prince Harry took an HIV test on Facebook Live Exit Disclaimer this week.

Facebook Live at AIDS 2016

We are excited to be using Facebook Live at the 21st International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2016) in Durban, South Africa to reach an even wider audience. We’ll be able to show in real time, daily interviews with senior government officials who will share the latest research and news. It will allow us to interact with our audience in a timely way  with the latest, most accurate information.

View our AIDS 2016 live streams directly from our Facebook page Exit Disclaimer from Monday July 18 to Thursday July 21 at 6 PM Durban time/12 PM ET/9 AM PT. We encourage everyone to watch, comment, and share! While you do not need a Facebook account to watch the live videos, you will need one to comment and react to them on Facebook.

Below is the schedule for AIDS.gov’s live streams from Durban, South Africa:

*Schedule is subject to change*

Monday, July 18

2 PM Durban time/8 AM ET/5 AM PT

6:30 PM Durban time/12:30 PM ET/9:30 AM PT           

Tuesday, July 19     

11 AM Durban time/5 AM ET/2 AM PT

2 PM Durban time/8 AM ET/5 AM PT

4 PM Durban time/10 AM ET/7 AM PT

6 PM Durban time/12 PM ET/9 AM PT

Wednesday, July 20       

11 AM Durban time/5 AM ET/2 AM PT

2 PM Durban time/8 AM ET/5 AM PT

6 PM Durban time/12 PM ET/9 AM PT

Thursday, July 21       

10 AM Durban time/4 AM ET/1 AM PT

6:30 PM Durban time/12:30 PM ET/9:30 AM PT

Friday, July 22       

12:30 PM Durban time/6:30 AM ET/3:30 AM PT

Remember, if you miss the live stream, that’s okay! Facebook Live records and keeps all the live streams so that they can be viewed as regular videos afterwards. We’ll be keeping all our live streamed videos on Facebook and uploading them to YouTube after the conference so that you can go back to catch up or watch them again!

If you’re interested in watching other Facebook Live videos, you can see all live videos currently streaming through Facebook’s world map at facebook.com/livemap Exit Disclaimer. On Facebook’s Live Map page, the section on the left displays popular live videos from around the world. The dots on the map represent where live streams are taking place. The bigger blinking dots signify streams that have the most active viewers. By hovering your cursor over a dot, you can not only take a quick peek at the stream, but also see strings representing where people are watching the stream from.

Check out more ways we will be bringing you coverage from #AIDS2016 Exit Disclaimer and don’t forget to watch our daily Facebook Live videos here Exit Disclaimer!

About AIDS.gov